JBL Link Portable
£129.99
3.5 (384)
Write a review
JBL Link Portable JBL 360-Degree Pro Sound - Image

JBL 360-Degree Pro Sound

Surround yourself with music. Enjoy crystal clear highs, sharp mids and deep, powerful bass. JBL Link Portable pulses sound in every direction thanks to a full-range transducer with 360-degree capabilities.

JBL Link Portable Wireless streaming via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth - Image

Wireless streaming via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth

Stream music on your JBL Link Portable effortlessly. Keep the music going with seamless Wi-Fi or Bluetooth streaming and easily access your Spotify, YouTube Music or Apple Music with no interruptions.

JBL Link Portable Hands-free help from the Google Assistant - Image

Hands-free help from the Google Assistant

Just say "Hey Google" to ask the Google Assistant to play your favorite songs, and get easy access to all your music.

Features

JBL Link Portable Up to 8 hours of portable playtime - Image

Up to 8 hours of portable playtime

Catch the latest podcast or audiobook. Then listen to every song on your favorite album. With the JBL Link Portable, you will still have plenty of power to spare.

JBL Link Portable Fully waterproof - Image

Fully waterproof

IPX7 waterproof protects JBL Link Portable from all sorts of household mishaps no matter where you take it.

JBL Link Portable Charging cradle - Image

Charging cradle

Recharging your speaker is a breeze. Plug the charging cradle into any outlet, place your JBL Link Portable on top and get back to the music in no time.

JBL Link Portable Easy setup at home - Image

Easy setup at home

Easily set up and manage the JBL Link with the free Google Home App for iOS and Android. Download, install, and play.

JBL Link Portable Style and substance - Image

Style and substance

The JBL Link Portable looks as good as it sounds. Choose from six bold colors to complement your style*. *Please check locally for available color options

LINK MUSIC
LINK PORTABLE
JBL Link Music
JBL Link Portable

Battery

Charging time (hrs)
Charging time (hrs) 3.5

Control and Connection Specifications

Bluetooth version 4.2
Bluetooth version 4.2

Dimensions

Dimensions (cm) 11.2 x 13.4
Dimensions (cm) 17 x 8.9
Weight (kgs) .73
Weight (kgs) 0.74
Dimensions (in) 4.4 x 5.3
Dimensions (in) 6.7 x 3.5
Weight (lbs) 1.6
Weight (lbs) 1.63

Audio Specifications

Dynamic frequency response range (Hz) 60Hz-20kHz
Dynamic frequency response range (Hz) 65 Hz - 20k Hz

Features

Bluetooth
Bluetooth
Charging cable
Charging cable
Waterproof
Waterproof
Wireless
Wireless
Rechargable battery
Rechargable battery

General Specifications

Maximum music playing time (hrs)
Maximum music playing time (hrs) 8
Output power (W) 1 x 20
Output power (W) 1 x 20
£ 87.99 each
£ 129.99 each

Specs & Downloads

Item# JBLLINKPORGRY

Description

JBL Link Portable

JBL Link Portable delivers bold, dynamic JBL 360-degree Pro sound for up to eight hours. Keep the music going with easy Wi-Fi or Bluetooth streaming in any room in your home. With the Google Assistant, make music requests, access Spotify, YouTube Music and Apple Music and listen without interruptions. Just say "Hey Google" to get started. Fully wireless, waterproof and durable it can handle an accidental soak or a few bumps and bruises. Charging is a breeze with the convenient, easy-to-use cradle. Complement your style with one of six eye-catching colors (availability varies by region).

General Specifications

Maximum music playing time (hrs)
8
Output power (W)
1 x 20

Audio Specifications

Dynamic frequency response range (Hz)
65 Hz - 20k Hz

Dimensions

Dimensions (cm)
17 x 8.9
Dimensions (in)
6.7 x 3.5
Weight (kgs)
0.74
Weight (lbs)
1.63

Control and Connection Specifications

Bluetooth frequency
2402 − 2480MHz
Bluetooth transmitted modulation
GFSK, π/4 DQPSK, 8DPSK
Bluetooth transmitter power
<12.5dBm
Bluetooth version
4.2

Battery

Charging time (hrs)
3.5

Features

Bluetooth
Yes
Charging cable
Yes
Waterproof
Yes
Wireless
Yes
Rechargable battery
Yes
Built-in Wi-Fi
Yes

Notification

Google, YouTube, Google Home and Chromecast built-in are trademarks of Google LLC.
-

What's in The Box?

  • 1 x Link Portable
  • 1 x Type-C USB cable
  • 1 x Charging cradle
  • 1 x Quick-Start Guide
  • 1 x Safety sheet
  • 1 x Warranty cards
What's in The Box?

Documents & Downloads

Reviews and Q&A

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT SPEAKER!! Like so many other jbl speakers this one is small and packs a punch. It looks amazing! Out of the box you can already tell this speaker is high quality. One of the best things I like is that it has Google voice assistant, so you can leave it anywhere at home. Another thing that makes this even easier to move around is it's charging stand can be hooked up to the outlet charging your speaker and when you want yo over it somewhere else it's as easy as just grabbing it and taking with you, no need to unplug cables. And when you need to charge it, just place it over the charging stand and it automatically starts charging without having to plug anything like other speakers. 10/10 I would definitely recommend if you're looking for a speaker that will fit nicely at home or office. Sounds great and looks great!
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Speaker for Apple Lovers I like the functionality of this speaker because it connects to Apple’s HomeKit. With AirPlay 2 I can play music seamlessly to this speaker. The design is good and basic. Battery life has not been an issue. I haven’t submerged in water but I’m glad it has some water proofing. This is a great and handy speaker. There are some quirks that though. The loudness can use some help, I’ve heard louder speaker coming in at the same size. But it gets plenty loud. The setup was a bit buggy, I had to reset it a couple to connect it to HomeKit and google. But once it connected it worked great. So far this is a great HomeKit Airplay 2 speaker!
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Annoying setup, especially bluetooth Neither Apple Home or the Bluetooth set up are straightforward, and Bluetooth requires google home. I’m not a fan of hardware that tries to shoehorn you into apps for functionality. Sounds is okay but not worth the annoyance.
Date published: 2020-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing quality, design and portability. The best part of this speaker is the built quality and portability. I love the charging dock, it makes charging and taking the speaker on the go so much easier! I also love that JBL has started incorporating USB C to their new products. I was not impressed with the sound, for the size of the speaker I was expecting a little more power and clarity. It sounds just a little better than my JBL Clip 3. PROS - Portability - Charging Dock - USB C - Battery Life - IPX7 Certified - Built Quality - Google assistant CONS - Not even a con but sound quality could be better
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not quite there. I purchase the speaker to mesh with my existing nest products. A little wireless speaker with some protection from the elements to use on my outside patio. I can not complain about the sound quality or portability. The Google assistant is not quit up to part. Responses are slow. Certain functions are a flip of a coin, do not disturb function for example. Reducing volume at night, dimming its lights etc. I had hoped it would integrate fully with my Google speakers. It hasn't. It occasionally drops the cast, requiring a repeat command. I am pleased with the overall performance and it meets my needs. I may have expected too much.
Date published: 2021-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from does not work, no printed directions to help. I bought this on line and put it right into my suitcase for a trip. After I landed I spent three hours trying to get it to work with a phone tech assistant who barely spoke english and had no clue as to how to handle the situation. The paper directions in the box were terrible and at best very oblique about how to trouble shoot issues. Why wouldn't t you include proper printed directions with your product, esp if its only backed by tech support that can t speak english. A waste of money and time, I still have no directions about how to return it.
Date published: 2021-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fatally flawed app This unit is commendable for its audio prowess, styling, and the nice addition of a charging cradle. Unfortunately, it is run via the Google Home app, which is about as clunky as early 1980s technology. The user interface is limited and not intuitive, and of course as is typical detailed instructions are not provided or available. If you are considering this unit for a wifi streaming, then look elsewhere. With the Google Home app the Link Portable is effectively less functional than than an AM/FM radio in a Chevy Nova. Final nail in the coffin...the Google owned YouTube Music is not available to stream via the Google Home app without a PREMIUM subscription.
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Portable Speaker , with Google assistant .. I Just got the New JBL Link Portable Speaker couple days ago and honestly , i am very impressed with this speaker.. it sounds great , has nice features nice design , and it is user friendly.. - The Speaker it self is very well made , not too thick , not too tall , or bulky .. I would say it has the perfect size.. and also the right weight to keep it in place when playing loud music.. - The sound is Great.. has very good Vocals , very good Mids , and good Bass considering the size of this speaker.. - it is a loud speaker for it size that’s for sure.. - Functions are very easy and user friendly.. - on top of speaker .. Volume Down ( left ) Google Assistant / Pause ( center ) Volume up ( right ). - Top front of speaker .. four light dots show you in what level the Volume is .. - Bottom of the speaker.. a light dot shows that is connected to your Wi-Fi .. - Back of the speaker .. Bluetooth button , Mic ( off ) , Power button , battery level , and Charging port.. - one of my Favorite functions is the charging base that this speaker comes with , it is a Great Idea / Function.. You are able to charge the speaker just by placing it on top of the base.. or by simply plugging the cable on the back of the speaker.. - also , what a Great idea changing the cable connection type.. to type-C USB .. Great idea JBL Team.. - Another Great feature is , that it is waterproof , if for some reason it gets dirty , I can simply rinse it .. - Battery is very good .. you can use it for about 8 hours .. - overall , I am 100% satisfied with this Product .. - I would recommend this Speaker ..
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I've gone through 4 speakers!!! My husband purchased the JBL Link 10 for me as a gift. I've now had to return a speaker 4 separate times because they either arrived broken or stopped working shortly after. Customer service has been great, but 4 returns?!?!?! How the heck are these speakers getting such great reviews?!?!?! I'm stumped. I've spent more time chatting with customer service, trouble shooting, packaging, and mailing these speakers than I have used them. Ridiculous.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stupid Design How is it that automatically going to sleep 'saves the battery' when it's plugged in and charging? And if I'm playing music and the battery lasts 8 hours, why does it go to sleep? Why can't I set the sleep-time?
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid quality, inside and out I love a good quality speaker, and the JBL Link Portable is not only durable, but sounds nice and crisp as well! Huge plus for me. I own a couple of speakers already, but this is my first one that's compatible through Apple's AirPlay2, and Google Assistant. At first I had trouble playing music from Spotify for some reason, but after using it for a few days, the connection was linking up properly. Apple Music, and locally saved music play just fine. If you manage play controls from your device, there's a couple seconds of communication lag, probably because of the way AirPlay works. Did I mention the docking set-up? You can either plug the cable into the dock and charge it up that way, or directly into the speaker itself. It's the small details that I like!
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Speaker I received this speaker about a week ago and am extremely pleased with the sound, quality, and performance right out of the box. I have been a JBL customer for about 10 years and have always been pleased with their products. I listen to a wide range of music and this speaker delivers crisp sound on everything. The bass, treble, and ambient sounds are crystal clear with very little volume distortion and zero "bluetooth lag". There are two options for charging, either directly from a USB-C port or a charging stand that comes with it. It took about 30 minutes for a full charge, which lasted about 3 hours on max volume. I used the Google assistant and it picks up from 10-12 feet very easily. I haven't tested the water resistance yet, but I have never had a problem with this from JBL speakers. For the price this is a real value.
Date published: 2020-03-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks good, function not so much Bought this about a month ago and I have to say, it’s not really that good at all for a portable speaker. WiFi connectivity is spotty, has trouble linking with my smart home system unless I reboot it each time i use it, and the battery life now completely drains after about an hour when it advertises for 8 hours. I would recommend a different model of JBL. This product doesn’t give a good representation of their lineup. What i did like about it was the integration to my google home system. It’s nice having all the music on your YouTube playlist playing on all of my speakers in my house plus where ever I take it in my yard. Just wish it was made better for being portable.
Date published: 2020-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buying this speaker was one of the worst decisions I do a ton of research before buying a product. I've owned plenty of JBL products before and loved each one. When they released these, I was excited. A portable, waterproof speaker that was also smart? Very few of these on the market. Hefty price point for it was well for $180. The problems with this product were almost immediate. I just waited too long to return because I purchased during COVID. First, everytime I unplugged the speaker from the wall outlet, if would loose bluetooth connection. I though this was strange, considering it's a portable bluetooth speaker. I have never resolved this issue. 2nd issue, within a few months, the speaker will no longer hold a charge. Within minutes of disconnecting the speaker from the outlet, it will die. I have never used this speaker at the beach or near water, not even the shower. Regardless, it's marketed as waterproof. I've had JBL Flip and Charge speakers that have lasted YEARS. This has been the worst JBL product I've purchased, and really left a sour taste in my mouth since I have been unable to return it or get a replacement without having to jump through hoops.
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Sound, But I have had this speaker for a few months now with no issues, but this week the charging process has become a lot more difficult. The pad that is included has stopped working which is apparently a common issue. The device also has become very picky about how and which cable I plug into the physical USB C port, a dissapointment because it lets me enjoy my music less and USB C has never given me problems before. I love JBL and the sound their speakers produce but this speaker definitely has a few quality issues. The device also has to be connected to WiFi to function as a smart speaker which is not very smart
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Smart speaker Great speaker loved it as soon as I inboxed it. Great packaging, speak looking speaker. Very easy to setup and use. I have never used google assistance, now I’m hooked. Speaker has great sound and can connect easily with Bluetooth. Sound is good and has good bass. I like the simplicity of use. Easy to use! Very stylish matches easy decor. Overall I like this speaker and recommend for anyone.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed with functionality I've had the JBL Extreme 2 speaker for a couple years and love it. So I thought I'd get a smaller JBL for my office. I've had the JBL Link Portable for a week and I still don't have it functioning. I just learned from a YouTube video comment that you have to download Google Home app in order to connect to Bluetooth, this was not made clear in the description when I bought it or in the user manual. Now that I'm in the app, it's requiring I be connected to WiFi to enable the Bluetooth. Isn't the point of a "Portable" speaker that you don't need internet access? I will try connecting again at my home ...
Date published: 2020-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Google Assistant integration My house has many Google Assistant devices (2 smartphones, 5 Google Home minis, and 2 Chromecasts) and I wanted another speaker to take outdoors. Setting up Google Home integration from a Google Pixel 3 proved impossible. Every attempt caused an authentication error, even after a factory reset. Google Home setup worked every time from an iPhone. Once configured, the device can be seen by all of the Google cast services, but configuration options are still not available on Android. Once configured, this is all done through wifi (not Bluetooth) so I've never seen this kind of device type limitation.
Date published: 2020-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall disappointing. Bought it few weeks ago and tried to give it some time to improve, but in the end have decided to return as it is disappointing to say the least. Sound quality is average at best, it sounds boomy and starts to resonate at even medium volume. Google assistant struggles to play songs from Spotify premium, keeps telling me to try again later. Main reason for return would be the sound quality though. Might be OK for some, but having a JBL Flip 2 speaker which is a lot smaller I expected this one to sound a lot better, it does not. Gave it three stars not less because I got it for 99 pounds which is good price for it, it just turned out not good enough for me, but might be OK for others.
Date published: 2022-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beware: batteries die shortly after warranty I bought 2 of these. The combination of portable, bluetood, wifi, voice assistant was great. Unfortunately both had batteries died ~13 months in. They also appear to NOT be able to run plugged in once the batteries go bad. One was used as a portable frequently the other was always plugged in. I am left to assume they were engineered to make it through warranty but all bets are off after that. Working with support, they did replace one which was great (otherwise woudl be 1 star). The other they wouldn't replace but offered a 20% off coupon. In my case this means one kiddo is without a speaker.
Date published: 2022-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Best of any Google enabled speaker I love JBL, have bought several through the years most lately the Clip and Flip. These are creme of the crop! I will say I'm hesitant to use this for outdoor rough portability like the beach or river ..i think the Flip is better suited for that but not sure? This seems so NICE I'm lost not sure if it's waterproof and the fabric is really nice. I'll use it for portability around the house, back yard, travel without harsh environment. As for charging, they thought of everything with the base as well as side, indicators etc. Sound is really great!! Got the link view to complement it downstairs :)
Date published: 2021-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from JBL Link Portable I purchased this speaker, not necessarily because of the Google Assistant, but because I was under the impression the speaker was WiFi enabled and I could play my own music via my home WiFi system and nbot through Bluetooth. Well, I was incorrectly informed, as the speaker won't carry out this function. That is a shame! I found access to Google Assistant is about average for this type of speaker and compared to Amazon's smart speaker, the assistant can answer some items that Amazon can't and vice versa. The sound from the speaker is average, certainly not spectacular but reasonable quality.
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Barely works Airplay 2 is there, but it's laggy—the JBL will be about a second behind every other speaker you're sending Airplay to, no matter what. And the Bluetooth on my unit straight up does not work. The JBL Connect app does not recognize this speaker, so if you want that for troubleshooting, you're out of luck. Even trying to Google this speaker is difficult. You end up with results for a lot of other JBL speakers that don't work the same way.
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Google assistant great, music function not so much I bought this over Black Friday - was originally going to get the Flip 4 but decided last minute to get this. I really like the google assistant - feel super tech savvy using it and I’m still figuring out its uses, however, I’m noticing more and more that it struggles a lot with my iPhone. In terms of music - it doesn’t directly sinc with Apple Music and you have to manually connect the device to your playing music. This is also difficult because about 1 in 4 tries it connects. Often I get a notice saying unable to connect. Given this was the primary reason for wanting a speaker - I’m disappointed. Additionally, the speaker doesn’t reach a volume that I was hoping (like the flip). The sound seems t be a bit less of quality from what I expected.
Date published: 2019-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not working The Bluetooth don’t connect to any of my phones no good
Date published: 2020-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but no cigar... Well, this one has pretty good sound, easy setup, cool features like google-home and such. Pretty fast charging and a good battery. The Bluetooth setup and syncing is overall quick to set up. Now, I would expect more sound from at speaker this size, a little disappointed about that. Especially if used outside or in a big room such as a training hall as i did. Even more disappointing was it that JBL hasn't included the Connect+ feature. Why isn't this standard on all JBL's? All in all is this a good speaker, for it's purpose. Good value for money. Just be aware of it's limitations.
Date published: 2019-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sounds Amazing Love this speaker, it sounds better than my Apple Homepod Mini. It's probably not worth $180 but at $89 during Black Friday nothing else comes close in terms of price for performance. The microphone is amazing and has never missed me saying hey google once.
Date published: 2020-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I bought this so when I'm sitting outside in my hot tub I can just speak to it without having to get up and touch the buttons to move songs or change channels/change the volume or whatever else. It's great with the hands-free google assistant built in, it's exactly what I was looking for and the JBL sound quality of course is amazing. I'm actually finding myself walking around in the house with this in my hand sometimes even. This really is an excellent speaker with the voice-activate assistant it's PERFECT!
Date published: 2020-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sound, not so good mic Bought this guy to replace my original Google Home speaker in the living room (and get some portability). Sound quality is much better than the GH, but the mic sensitivity is bad, with the original GH I'd just speak naturally. with the JBL I need to shout "Hey Google" (and odds out that the GH that is in 3 rooms away) will answer before the JBL that is 3 meters from me will. Other than that, connecting to 5GHz (40 cm from the WIF router) is clunky, so switched to 2.4GHz. oh... and why volume voice commands effect the playback volume, but not the actual assistant responses ?!?
Date published: 2020-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sound, great charging cradle, great speaker! I've had the JBL Smartlink Portable for a few weeks now. I'd recommend it to anyone. The sound is great and it can easily be picked up and carried around the house. The charging cradle that it sits in is one of the best features. I didn't pay attention to that when purchasing, but it turns out that is a standout feature I wouldn't want to live without. I don't have to plug the speaker in and out whenever I move it, you see. I can just grab the speaker without fiddling with cords and plugs. Fantastic!
Date published: 2020-12-12
  • y_2022, m_12, d_3, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_209
  • loc_en_GB, sid_linkportable, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • reviews, product

Product Q&A

JBL Link Portable Question: My bluetooth doesn't seem to be working. So far I've tried the following: Pushed once, held it in, pushed twice, tried multiple iPhones, reset the speaker, turned it on and off, still unable to connect on iPhones.

Asked by: MattS28
When I set up Google Home first with the unit, then bluetooth....works like a charm. Directions do not say that. Sad. I won't make inference as to why, here...
Answered by: Brian9820
Date published: 2022-01-03

What about the equalizer, I bought 2 JBL LP&acute;s yesterday and after a day the eq disappeared?? I need to set the treble/bass to be able to try to get these speakers to produce a sound they should be capable of. If not I must return them.

Asked by: Joppe4
Eq settings are not available in the google home app for this speaker
Answered by: Tony 57
Date published: 2022-04-20

Just received this as a gift. Love it so far. A question - can I stream music from my Windows 10 Laptop via wifi to this speaker? I haven't found a way to do this. Thanks

Asked by: JoeOC
Hi Mario and thanks for your reply. I did know about Bluetooth. My question relates to WiFi streaming. Quoting from your website description ... &quot;Wireless streaming via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth...Stream music on your JBL Link Portable effortlessly. Keep the music going with seamless Wi-Fi or Bluetooth streaming&quot; So I am unclear about the &quot;WiFi Streaming&quot; ... in particular from a PC..... Thanks in advance.
Answered by: JoeOC
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does it fit in a cup holder?

Asked by: Dereck293
Based on the average cup holder size of 2&quot;x 9/16&quot;, it won't fit. Our Link Portable's dimensions are 3.5&quot; x 6.7&quot;.
Answered by: Homer DLR
Date published: 2021-06-06

Does JBL Link Portable support Amazon Music and Alexa?

Asked by: Jacob84
Thank you for your question. The JBL Link series support Amazon Music, which is supported through Chromecast but Alexa is not supported as they use the Google Assistant instead. Should you wish to receive further support, you may contact the Harman Customer Support team by telephone, email or chat in order to receive direct assistance. Please see https://uk.harmanaudio.com/support-contact.html#ns for further details. Thank you.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, I'm very happy with my link portable. Can you dim the LEDs? I have mine at my bedside and they are quite bright.

Asked by: Harro
Hi, our Link Portable's LEDs are not able to be dimmed as these are fixed. The only Link model we have that can do that is the Link View for its screen.
Answered by: Al at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

when the JBL link portable is plugged in, but has not been used for several hours, can i say &quot;hey google&quot; and it will respond? or do i need to turn it on first like a normal Bluetooth speaker?

Asked by: Josh477
The JBL Link Portable has battery built-in, so it will shut down as it would with LINK 10 and 20 on a battery to save power when not being used for about 15 minutes or more.
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

I&rsquo;ve connected to the Apple Home App (HomeKit). The unit does NOT turn off when on battery power (or when on the dock). Is this expected when using the Home App? I was hoping it would shut off when inactive.

Asked by: MichaelA1234
We would like to get more information to help you out, please contact us so we can assist you: https://bit.ly/2zwFkYM
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

How much time is the warranty for this refurbished

Asked by: Johel23
When the refurbished device is purchased on our website, it is covered by our 1-year Harman warranty.
Answered by: Customer Support
Date published: 2022-08-23

Will this be a good beach speaker?

Asked by: Brandon01
Our JBL Link Portable has IPX7 waterproof rating, you could take it to the beach or the pool without worrying about spills or even submersion in 1 meter of water for up to 30 minutes. Please make sure that the speaker is dry before charging again.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hello, is it resistant to seawater or only fresh water? It is generally not advisable to put waterproof portable speakers in contact with salt water. Is it the same for this one or can it handle the seawater?

Asked by: Paul8
The standard for waterproofing is for tap water. Chemicals and salt in your pool or the ocean can damage the waterproof seals or harm the surface finish over time if not rinsed off after use. To maintain the looks and functions of your speaker, please make sure to rinse it with fresh water after using it at a swimming pool or the ocean, then dry off all covers and areas where water can gather.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

When will be the update to the Polish language?

Asked by: KrzyKwi
We would like to get more information to help you out, please contact us so we can assist you:https://bit.ly/2zwFkYM
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

If unused for an hour on the charging station, will the speaker go into standby mode or actually turn off? I would like to be able to say, &quot;Hey Google&quot; at any point.

Asked by: Jake12345
JBL Link Portable is running on battery and will turn off to save power when not being used for about 15 minutes or more. However, when plugged in, it will go into standby mode and can be woken up by speaking, just like other non-portable Link units.
Answered by: Rhae
Date published: 2021-06-06

How many of these can sync together? trying to put together indoor outdoor wireless system

Asked by: DrMikeK
You can sync as much JBL Link Portable as your wireless bandwidth allows it.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-11-23

Can I turn the lights off at night?

Asked by: Mikeho
Thank you for your question. It is possible for the lights to be off if the speaker is taken out of his charging disk and then turned off. Should you wish to receive further support, you may contact the Harman Customer Support team by telephone, email or chat in order to receive direct assistance. Please see https://uk.harmanaudio.com/support-contact.html#ns for further details. Thank you.
Answered by: AJ1612
Date published: 2021-07-23

I've got the JBL Link Portable. How do I prevent battery drain when it is turned off? It only lasts a week when not in use which is quite disappointing.

Asked by: jhhm
We'd like to work with you directly to troubleshoot the issues you're experiencing with our JBL Link Portable and if needed, to get more information from you so we can check your options. Please use the link to contact our customer support. https://bit.ly/3lZsT0a
Answered by: Customer Support
Date published: 2021-12-12

Just purchased the JBL Link Portable and I&rsquo;m not having any success setting it up as a Airplay Speaker first via my iPhone Wi-Fi settings...or per the Quick Start Guide adding it as an accessory via the Apple Home App. &nbsp;I've got screenshots to share.

Asked by: LarryDenver
We'd like to work with you directly so we could try some troubleshooting with your JBL Link Portable. Please reach out to our Customer Support through here: https://bit.ly/2Jc8wJp
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

Cannot get JBL link portable to work AT ALL with desktop wifi. Have Google Home installed on phone, and synced to desktop (I think). Whassup? Is this a google syncing problem between devices?

Asked by: Jowo
We would like to get more information to help you out, please contact us so we can assist you:https://bit.ly/2zwFkYM
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can speaker play while it charges or while it is on the charging cradle ?

Asked by: Meoff Jack
Yes. Our JBL Link Portable can be used while it is docked on the charging cradle. Please note that the unit will go into standby then turn off after 10-15 minutes of inactivity.
Answered by: Customer Support
Date published: 2022-11-11

When I talk to my JBL it listens for a split second and then stops listening. Does anyone else have this problem if so how do I fix it?

Asked by: AugieLucq
Thank you for your question. Try talking a bit faster, it can be that sometimes at thinks you have already finished talking. If the problem still comes, please contact us directly at the following address: https://support.jbl.com/de/de/customer-service/contact.html Kind regards
Answered by: Jan at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

When the mic is muted (by the mute button the back), can I still use the Google Assistant button on the top to issue a voice command? After doing so, will the mic go back to being muted, or will it now be on until the mute button is pressed again?

Asked by: iiccmm
When the GA button is activated on the Link Portable, the microphone is 'un-muted' and becomes ready to listen to your request. It won't re-mute itself after this request has been completed however. I hope this helps.
Answered by: Jak D
Date published: 2021-06-06

Is there a timeout setting? I have it always on the base and plugged in, and it keeps turning off after a certain period of time without activity. I would like to be able to use airplay 2 without having to turn the device on each time.

Asked by: Z33H
We would like to get more information to help you out, please contact us so we can assist you:https://bit.ly/2zwFkYM
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06

My JBL Link portable wifi speaker stopped playing music via &quot;hey google&quot; instructions as well as via bluetooth through my phone and Spotify, iHeartRadio, etc. When I check the bluetooth settings on my phone, the speaker is no longer listed.

Asked by: Kgw20
Thank you for your question, As there could be different causes for your problem, as well as solutions, we would like you to contact us directly at the following address: https://support.jbl.com/de/de/customer-service/contact.html Kind regards
Answered by: Jan at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

Can you connect this, or any other speaker to the soundbar 5.1 with detachable speakers? For example if you want this is your kitchen can it all pleay through the same system and all play the same music or is it seperate? Thanks

Asked by: Jack123456
The only way to connect JBL Link Portable with JBL Soundbar 5.1 is to have Google Chromecast on your TV and set-up a Google Home account where you can create a speaker group. After that make sure to add both your TV (with the connected soundbar) and Link Portable set-up on your account. Create a speaker group and then just start playing your favourite music.
Answered by: Jaunius
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hello, my portable link stops playback everytime I use it on wi-fi. There doesn't seem to be any set time when it cuts out - sometimes it can play for a minute then stop, sometimes 30 minutes or so. Seems to be fine when using bluetooth. Any ideas? Thanks

Asked by: Matt101
Thank you for your question. I am sorry to read that you are having issues with your JBL Link Portable. We would suggest you to try the following to see if it may solve the issue: -Try to move your Link Portable closer to your router. -Try to disconnect as many WiFi devices as you can. -Reset the speaker. ​​​​​​​-Press and hold the Mute button or Microphone off button for 13&gt; seconds (For all models). -The LINK speaker will reboot itself. -After 30-45 seconds you will hear a welcome message. -The LINK speaker is now in setup mode. Should you wish to receive further support, you may contact the Harman Customer Support team by telephone, email or chat in order to receive direct assistance. Please see https://uk.harmanaudio.com/support-contact.html#ns for further details. Thank you.
Answered by: Frank K
Date published: 2021-06-06

How can I turn the speaker off while it is on the charger? I would like to leave it on the charger but be able to turn it off. When I turn it off while on the charger it just turns itself back on again.

Asked by: Another Jimbo
Try turning off the Bluetooth of any device paired to the speaker to check if these devices are causing your speaker to power up when it detects them.
Answered by: Homer DLR
Date published: 2021-06-06

Hi, I have the JBL link Portable, when its being used the 4 lights at the top start flashing and the playback stops, The lights will flash for up to a minute then go out and goes back to standby mode, I have done a full reset on the unit , still does it

Asked by: Matt81
We'd like to work with you directly to troubleshoot the issues you're experiencing with our JBL Link Portable and if needed, to get more information from you so we can check your options. Please use the link to contact our customer support. https://bit.ly/3x23RQy
Answered by: Paul at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-07-22

Does a JBL portable have connect+ or party boost or can you connect it with other JBL speakers?

Asked by: BS2801
Our JBL Link Portable doesn't have Connect+ or PartyBoost. Once it's set-up with the Google Home app, you can create a speaker group with other Google Chromecast speakers that you have so that they can play the same music at the same time.
Answered by: Jem at Customer Support
Date published: 2021-06-06

How many bluetooth devices can Link Portable stream to? Does speaker cut out when streaming to other devices?

Asked by: Hobzee
Thank you for your question. Your query will need further investigation by one of our live agents. Please do not hesitate to contact the Harman Customer Support team by telephone, email or chat in order to receive direct assistance. Please see https://uk.harmanaudio.com/support-contact.html#ns for further details. Thank you.
Answered by: Frank K
Date published: 2021-06-06

If I connect both of these within the google home app will it give me stereo sound or just mono from both speakers?

Asked by: jeffophoto
Connecting 2 JBL Link Portable speakers via the Google Home app will only give you mono sound.
Answered by: Mario at Customer service
Date published: 2021-06-06
  • y_2022, m_12, d_4, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_148
  • loc_en_GB, sid_linkportable, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jbl
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • questions, product

Support